The International Ibsen Award

The winner of the 2014 International Ibsen Award is Peter Handke.

The International Ibsen Award, one of the world’s most prestigious theatre prizes, is awarded for bringing a new artistic dimension to the world of drama or theatre. The winner receives 2.5 million kroner (330.000 Euro).

Peter Handke is the winner of the 2014 International Ibsen Award. It was announced on a press conference at the National Theatre in Oslo the 20th March 2014.

Read more about Peter Handke and the Comitee's statement

The world's greatest theatre award The International Ibsen Award is presented at the National Theatre during the Ibsen Festival.

The award honours an individual, organisation or institution in art and culture for an extraordinary contribution in the spirit of Ibsen. The Ibsen Award is intended to stimulate critical debate on important social and existential topics.

The winner is chosen by the award committee. The committee is elected for four years and consists of seven acknowledged and experienced persons with a thorough knowledge of international theatre.

The International Ibsen Award was established in 2007 and is administered by the Ministry of Culture. This year's award will be presented to author and dramatist Peter Handke in Hovedscenen on 21 September. The award will also be marked by performances of Still Storm, Müdigkeitgesellschaft and They are all dying, based on texts by Peter Handke.

Handke is considered to be one of the most important international voices in contemporary literature. His debut as a dramatist came with the legendary play Offending the Audience in 1966, since when he has published more than 30 stories and prose works, as well as writing a number of plays and film scripts. One of the best known is perhaps Wings of Desire of 1987. The epic Still Storm had its world premier in 2011 and the following year received the Mülheimer Dramatikerpreis. Thalia Theater's production from Germany makes a guest appearance on the National Theatre's Hovedscene on 21 and 22 September.

The committee
The present committee consists of Per Boye Hansen, HanneTømta, Sir Brian McMaster, Thomas Oberender, Christiane Schneider, Roman Dolzhanskiy and Therese Bjørneboe.

Previous award winners
2008 Peter Brook
2009 Ariane Mnouchkine
2010 Jon Fosse
2012 Heiner Goebbels
2014 Peter Handke